Three families earn Pioneer Farm Family honors

Error message

Notice: Use of undefined constant view_mode - assumed 'view_mode' in premium_node_view() (line 63 of /data/web/public/drupal/sites/all/modules/premium_content/premium.module).
Edgar's picture

Three Clay County families will be receiving the Nebraska Pioneer Farm Award Saturday, July 8, at 6:15 p.m., during the Clay County Fair. The Pioneer Farm Award is given to farm families who have consecutively held ownership of land in the same family for at least a 100 years. Those to be honored in the county include LaVerne and Shirley Yost of Harvard; David and Ann Kauk of Saronville; and Stanley R. Koehler of Harvard.


Henry G. Yost served as the 100-yearold farm’s original owner, filing the farm on Sept. 1, 1916. Henry’s son, Walter, and his wife, Clara, later purchased the farm on Sept. 6, 1947. It was later purchased by their son, LaVerne, and his wife, Shirley, on Nov. 9, 1972, with the final ownership being filed on May 2, 1980.


To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet